Skip to content

Planning Junkie

Geek of the Urban Sphere


They are expanding the freeway along my morning commute. I am sure most people feel like this is a great thing. I mean the construction traffic is horrible, but when it is finally over we will have a shiny new interstate with 5 lanes on each side. Utah County will finally have a huge freeway, just like the big city. One politician actually said, “This will open up Provo to the world.” I don’t know how to respond to that, unless you consider sprawl opening up your city to the world….

I hate traffic as much as the next guy, but I also know that expanding the freeway will not really fix anything, at least not for long. And I guess I am not the only one who feels this way, there are a few places starting to think a little differently.

http://cityparksblog.org/2009/07/07/freeways-to-parks-parkways/

